top of page


Fleckenstein Castle in Lembach

Mentioned for the first time in 1174 when Gottfried de Fleckenstein was part of the Emperor Frederic Barbarossa's entourage in Haguenau, the castle of Fleckenstein sheltered six centuries during the family of the same name, among the most influential of Lower Alsace.

From rock with rudimentary facilities, it was transformed into a majestic castle with the reputation of an impregnable eagle's nest, which earned it the model for the "ideal castle" imagined by the Strasbourg architect Daniel Specklin in 1589.

Only the armies of Louis XIV got the better of him in 1689 during the War of the League of Augsburg (or Nine Years' War).

Photo de la ruine du Fleckenstein
LOgo du parc Didi'Land situé à Morsbronn-les-bains

Didi'Land amusement park

More than 30 rides and attractions. For a single entry price enjoy all the attractions of the park for free. (except games and formula 1)

Come visit the park for the whole family.

The Overseas Rural House

The Maison Rurale de l'Outre-Forêt is a former farmhouse, now a heritage interpretation center: a lively place to discover Alsatian heritage and its popular arts and traditions.

The various collections presented, illustrations of rurality in the first half of the 20th century, as well as the activities, workshops and exhibitions which complete the visit to the site, invite young and old to embrace the many facets of the regional art of living: from the architecture of the buildings to the traditions and know-how of our ancestors...

Photo de la maison rurale de l'outre forêt
Photo du Four à Chaux de la ligne Maginaux
Four a Chaux

The Lime Kiln

The Lime Kiln was built between 1930 and 1935 by around 800 workers, mainly foreigners. The structural work was carried out by the General Company of Orleans, while the mechanisms such as the firing turrets or the ventilation system were carried out by specialized companies.

The fort takes its name from a lime kiln which was in operation near the fortress until 1939, and which gave its name to the region surrounding the structure.
It also became his civilian name, his wartime codename having been A4.
It is one of the 108 forts of the Maginot Line, spread over 750 km of borders.
It belongs to the Fortified Sector of the Vosges.

The French Petroleum Museum
in Merkwiller-Pechelbronn



Inaugurated on May 9, 1967, the museum is managed by the Association of Friends of the Petroleum Museum and aims to preserve the memory of what was for centuries the main activity of all of northern Alsace.
Mainly made up of documents, photos, models, objects and oil equipment, the museum retraces 500 years of oil history in Northern Alsace.
From the end of the Middle Ages the peasant knew that the earth was impregnated with an oily substance.
Its extraction dates back to the first half of the 18th century and lasted until 1970.


Pompes et terril au musée du pétrole à Merckwiller Pechelbronn
Carte de la bataille de Reichshoffen

The Turcos trail in Woerth

This circular path pays homage to the fighters on both sides of the Battle of Woerth-Froeschwiller.
Among them, the "Turcos", skirmishers from Algeria, then a French colony.
A circuit dotted with tombs and monuments dedicated to the French and German troops present on August 6, 1870.

Hohenbourg Castle in Wingen

The Hohenbourg rises 553 meters above sea level on the summit of the Schlossberg, in the municipality of Wingen, near the municipalities of Fleckenstein and Wissembourg. 

It was certainly built at the beginning of the 13th century by the Pullers, an old family related to the Fleckensteins, made up of imperial ministers, vassals of the Hohenstaufen.
From 1267, they took the name of Puller de Hohenbourg.
The castle would have been built following numerous family divisions between the lordships of Fleckenstein and Puller. They will frequently disagree in the years following the construction of Hohenbourg. The Hohenbourg is one of the most imposing fortresses in the Northern Vosges. The mixture of medieval and Renaissance architecture is splendid. The barbican, relatively well preserved, is one of the most beautiful in Alsace.
Among the remains: the curtain wall with its boss blocks, the artillery bastion, the Renaissance gate, the 130-metre deep well...

Ruines du chateau-de-hohenbourg

The Museum of the Battle of 1870

Musée de Woerth de 1870  au Château

The museum of the battle of 08/06/1870, known as 

"Battle of Reichshoffen" in Woerth

Weapons, uniforms and documents are presented around the painting by Édouard Detaille, evoking the battle of Frœschwiller-Wœrth, known as the “battle of Reichshoffen”.

The museum has a tower from which it is possible to observe the panorama overlooking Wœrth and the battlefield of 1870.

The Battle of Frœschwiller-Woerth (or Battle of Reichshoffen) took place on August 6, 1870 in Alsace, at the start of the Franco-Prussian War of 1870. It is famous for a series of charges by French cuirassiers (heavy cavalry).

There were two charges: that under the orders of General Michel at Morsbronn around 1.30 p.m. and that of Bonnemains at Elsasshausen (hamlet of Frœschwiller) around 3.30 p.m., both facing the Third Prussian Army which, with its hundred and thirty thousand men, had a numerical advantage of three against one adding to a superiority of material.

The sacrifice of these men was completely useless from a military point of view but was copiously used by the propaganda, in particular for the resumption of Alsace (by Hansi among others). The survivors were profusely decorated. In 1870, a monument was erected above Morsbronn to the glory of these heroes. We can read on this monument “to the so-called Reichshoffen cuirassiers”.

Discover Wissembourg

Wissembourg marks the entrance to the Regional Natural Park of the Northern Vosges. It is part of a sector classified since 1989 as a “World Biosphere Reserve”. 

Since 2008 the city has also been included in the 100 "Most beautiful detours in France" grouping together throughout France, charming tourist cities to discover.

A land of vineyards and orchards, it is the starting point for discoveries on foot or by bike. Formerly a small town of craftsmen and winegrowers, Wissembourg has remained a welcoming town rich in memories, where it is good to stroll along the quays in the imposing shade of the Abbey Church or in the cobbled streets leading to the ramparts.

Alive, intact, it tells its story along the Lauter. The city is rich in a preserved religious heritage despite a particularly troubled past. The city developed around the Abbey of Saint Pierre and Paul, the second largest Gothic building in Alsace after Strasbourg Cathedral.

The treetop path in Drachenbronn

Visuel du Chemin des cimes

The highlight of the Chemin des Cimes Alsace is the 29 meter high panoramic tower. 

The trail is designed to be barrier-free. With a maximum slope of 6%, it is possible for people in wheelchairs and families with pushchairs to enjoy a pleasant walk.

Once you reach the top of the 29-meter tower, you will be dazzled by a unique view. Being one of the highest points in the foothills of the Vosges, the tower offers a 360° panoramic view of the Rhine plain, the Black Forest and the Northern Vosges. 

The highlight of the show is the 75 meter long slide in the center of the tower. But it is also possible to go down the path.

Loewenstein Castle in Wingen

Lœwenstein Castle is located in the municipality of Wingen and culminates at 520 meters above sea level, on the top of the Schlossberg. Built during the reign of Frédéric Barberousse by the Loewensteins, parents of the Fleckensteins. Passed into the hands of Rodolphe de Habsbourg in 1276, the castle of Loewenstein will be given in 1283 to Otton III of Ochsenstein, nephew of Rodolphe.
The castle will be occupied by various families. It will become the landmark of brigands, then will be destroyed in 1386 by Jean de Lichtenberg, allied to the Strasbourgeois.
The castle is classified as historical monuments since 1898. Nowadays, the remains are thin.
The visitor will linger in particular on the imposing summit rock from where the view of the Palatinate and the Sauer valley is splendid.

Photo du Loewenstein

The house of the Fortified Castles of the Northern Vosges in Obersteinbach

armure-maison à Obersteinbach

The Obersteinbach Castle House is at the start of many hiking trails to the ruins of the castles in the area. The exhibition presents photographs of the architectural particularities of the ruins, maps and a set of remains exhibited on site: cut stones, stove tiles, pottery.
The garden, the maze and the orchard surrounding the House are open to the public and equipped with benches, thematic panels and an interactive tourist information terminal.
The texts and captions are written in French, German and English.

bottom of page